Trisha Faye’s Top 10 Children’s Picture Books

little mouse red ripe strawberryThese ten children’s picture books come together to make up my ‘Top 10 List’ of children’s picture books. This list is my own personal opinion, formed from years of reading children’s books to my two boys when they were younger, and yes, probably influenced by the books they enjoyed most. (Okay, except for Curious George – that one gained its appearance on this list from my own childhood memories and overall favorite books.)

There are many new wonderful books out there that deserve Top 10 listings also. Now, many years later, as Grandma Pat, I’ll be expanding my repartee to include newer publications.

But for now, here’s my list of ten favorite classics. A combination of plot, whimsy, captivating verse, the ability to capture and maintain young children’s attention and the accompanying illustrations are all integral parts of the mix. Other books, such as Where the Wild Things Are (which is magnificent), are typically featured as top picture book contenders, yet sometimes it just comes down to personal opinion.

  1. The Little Mouse, the Red Ripe Strawberry, and the Big Hungry Bear by Audrey & Don Wood.
  2. If you Give a Mouse a Cookie, by Laura Joffe Numeroff & Felicia Bond
  3. The Very Hungry Caterpillar, by Eric Carle
  4. Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs, by Judy & Ron Barrett
  5. Stone Soup, by Marcia Brown
  6. The Napping House, by Audrey & Don Wood
  7. Are you My Mother?, by P.D. Eastman
  8. Harold and the Purple Crayon, by Crockett Johnson
  9. Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, Very Bad Day, by Judith Viorst & Ray Cruz
  10. Curious George series, by H.A. Ray

What books are on YOUR Top 10 List?

7 thoughts on “Trisha Faye’s Top 10 Children’s Picture Books

  1. Great post. As for what’s on my top list: If you really want to know, here it is.

    1.Goodnight Moon-Margaret Wise Brown-Best book ever. It’s even on youtube, narrated by Susan Sarandon. I put it on my Iphone and I fall asleep to it sometimes. I suggest listening to it on youtube, it’s great!
    2.If you Give a Mouse a Cookie.
    3.Polar Bear Polar Bear What do you hear-Bill Martin and Eric Carle
    4.Brown Bear Brown Bear What do you See-Bill Martin and Eric Carle
    5. The Lonely Doll Series-Dare Wright
    6. Madeline-Ludwig Bemelmans
    7 Green Eggs and Ham-The rhyme scheme was just so repetitive, it was hard not to love it, and the illustrations too. Dr. Seuss- can we say genius?
    8 Love You Forever-Robert Munsch
    9The Teddy Bears Picnic-Jimmy Kennedy

    Those were my favourites. The best thing about them was the rhythm of them- just listening to them was soothing. I didn’t stay with picture books; I was one of those kids reading Harry Potter silently (I used to call it “think reading”.) when I was seven. It was so-long picture books, hello chapter books and classics like Little Women and Jane Eyre! But I do return to the picture books sometimes. There’s just something about them that is hard to forget.

    • Thanks Jennifer!! I enjoyed reading your list of favorite books too. All excellent! Except the Lonely Doll Series, I haven’t had the pleasure of reading any of this series. I will have to check them out.
      I didn’t now that Goodnight Moon is on youtube either.
      Thanks so much for sharing. Have a WONDERFUL day!

      • The Lonely Doll series are really old- I have my mother’s from 1968. They’re big and have photographs as pictures- Pictures of a doll and Teddy bears. If you find one in a library I highly suggest reading it- and the pictures are beautiful.

      • Glad I could mention it. 🙂 If you can’t find it, don’t be too disappointed though, I think they may be out of print. But it’s worth looking around just to see.

Leave a Reply

